top of page
Writer's picturealee31

My Everlane Story: Interview

Updated: Nov 27, 2018


Phoenix Ouyang with her Everlane backpack.

We at IMPACT had the pleasure of interviewing Phoenix Ouyang, a long time supporter of Everlane. We discuss the her obsession with sustainability and ethical consumption.


Q: When did you begin you begin your sustainable journey?


A: Ever since I was little, my school has always taught us the importance of recycling and being environmentally conscious. But as I got older, I realized that it wasn't enough for me to recycle my paper and plastic water bottles. Being environmentally friendly goes beyond the small, yet important, act of recycling. It wasn't until I joined a school club on campus, Enactus, did I open my eyes to how a can be sustainably-conscious in other parts of my life.


Q: You mentioned, Enactus, would you mind telling us about that?


A: Sure thing! It's a global, non-profit organization that aims to achieve the UN's 17 Sustainable Development Goals through social entrepreneurship. The branch that I was a part of, created Shredded, a program which tackles the issue of textile waste by re-purposing old clothes into blankets, pillows and even dog beds! This is when I learned about the impact the fashion industry as on the world and when I watched The True Cost for the first time.



Image courtesy of un.org


Q: What is your go-to sustainable clothing store?


A: Everlane, hands down! I love their simple look, which makes picking an outfit in the morning super easy. But the thing that I like the most about them is that I don;t ever feel like they are lying to me or tricking me. They let you know exactly what it costed them to make the product, and the mark up they are putting on the product. You can also see the exact factory the product was made in and the materials that went into it. A company that has nothing to hide, is one that I can trust and feel good supporting.


Q: What is your favourite item you have from Everlane?


A: Definitely my backpack. I like that it's a piece that I use everyday so it's a constant reminder that being sustainable is something that I can do all the time. Not to mention it's super cute and functional. I've had my Everlane backpack for years now, and it's still just as good and sturdy as the first day. That's another thing about Everlane, they have nothing but the best quality!


Q: Any shopping tips for our readers?


A: If I had to pick just one, I would say that although you may do your research and find the most ethical brands like Everlane, it's not an excuse to binge and go on a shopping spree. Ethical over consumption, is still over consumption.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page