top of page
Writer's picturealee31

My Top 5 Tips for Thrifting


Thrifting has been all the rage lately, and I could not be more excited about it! It is not only a create way to give your old clothes a new life, find some great vintage pieces, but it's a fantastic way to fight fast fashion and textile waste. A couple years ago when I started thrifting, I promised myself that majority of my clothes need to be thrifted, to minimize the amount of textile waste I produce.


But if you're anything like me, your first time walking into a thrift shop can be quite overwhelming. Now that I have a couple of years of thrifting experience under my belt, I have come up with my top 5 thrifting tips for everyone!


1. Check Instagram first


Every second hand shop has their own specialty and their own style. So before you head out and search for hours, check out their website or Instagram to get a feel for what kind of clothes they are selling. Some thrift shops specialize in 20s vintage while others are a haven for vintage graphic tees. I've made the mistake of travelling more than an hour to a thrift store only to find out that we were not a match, so don;t make that mistake!


Sourced from Instagram @lusterandoak

2. Think about what you wear


Unless you're a real risk taker, you will probably find yourself spending lots of time in the fitting rooms hoping that all the gems you found will fit you. In order to save yourself some time, make sure that your outfit that day is best for the fitting room. This means clothes that are easy to take on and off. I would also suggest wearing basics, so that you are able to see if your new finds are able to match your current wardrobe.


3. Keep and open mind and positive attitude


Although you may see Youtubers showing off bags and bags of good finds in their thrifting hauls, that is not always the case. Take it from me, I've spent countless hours searching the racks of thrift stores and have gone home empty handed. But this is no reason to give up! The best part of thrifting is that everyday will be different and that new items will be hitting the shelves each time. So don't get disappointed if today is not your day because tomorrow new items will be out soon! So take your time and be patient.


4. Take advantage of in-store deals and policies


Every store will have different deals and policies so be sure to ask! One of my favourite secondhand stores posts some of their best items on their Instagram and you can call in to hold the item. This is a great way to save yourself from heartbreak and rushing to the store. Other stores have exclusive sales for their members, so it may be worthwhile to sign up for their emails to stay up to date.


Sourced from Instagram @valuevillage_thrift


5. It's not all about spending, you can earn some money too!


The thrift store is not only a good place for shopping, but you can earn some good money as well. These stores depend on consumers like you to bring in some clothes that are hiding in the back of your closet to fill their racks. I personally have earned as much as $100 by cleaning out my closet and selling clothes that I haven't worn in months! So instead of throwing them away, I was able to get some good money on them!


Sourced from Instagram @platosclosetrichmondhill


1 view0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page